Seaforth Highlanders
A brief history

The Seaforth Highlanders were the product of two Regular Regiments; the 72nd Highlanders raised in 1778 as the 78th, and renumbered the 72nd (Highland) Regiment of Foot in 1786. The 2nd Battalion of the Seaforth Highlanders was raised in 1793 as the 78th Highland Regiment of Foot and augmented by a Second Battalion, known as the Ross-shire Buffs, in 1794 and which was disbanded in 1816. Both Regiments were amalgamated in 1881 as the 1st and 2nd Battalions Seaforth Highlanders (Ross-shire Buffs, The Duke of Albany's).

The traditional Seaforth recruiting area was Ross-shire, Sutherland, Caithness, Orkney and Moray. The Outer Hebrides was split between the Seaforths and Camerons.